Making Workouts Work

My son Forrest is two months old today! We are falling into a rhythm now, which is becoming more predictable but is still somewhat sporadic! So while I’ve been able to get some gym time in, I’d say the majority of my plans around exercise have fallen to the wayside. It’s hard enough to get to the gym sans baby, but now scheduling is all the more complicated. There are limited windows of opportunity based on my husband being able to watch him, and of course, the times that are available haven’t been so appealing. Sure, I could get to the gym from 6 pm to 7 pm, but after interrupted sleep the night before, staying home, relaxing, and getting to bed by 8 pm seems so much more attractive! Plus, sometimes, it’s the only opportunity I have to connect with my husband all day.

Last week, I got to the gym twice, this week, it hasn’t happened at all. But what I’m doing instead is sneaking in mini workouts throughout the day. Once he’s down for a nap, I’ll alternate 15 push ups with 50 crunches, and try to get three sets in. Another option is to do a plank and alternate side planks. Right now, I can just hold them for about 30 seconds but I’ll work my way back up! Finally, lunges across the living room, while carrying Forrest in the baby Bjorn is a great way to get myself stronger, and soothe the baby!

The baby Bjorn has been such a lifesaver; it soothes my son when he’s fussy, I can get things done, and when I’m feeling really ambitious, I can take the two dogs out for a walk at the same time. That’s another nice workout! For about 20-30 minutes at a time, I’m carrying an extra weight of almost 14 pounds. On a good day, we get two walks in.

IMG_3813

Full on Mommy Nerd! I can hardly recognize myself with the sun visor and the sensible walking shoes, LOL!

Slowly but surely, I’m feeling more like myself again. My big lesson here as a new mom is that I have to stay flexible and put my desires on the back burner a lot of the time. But as long as I keep the burners going and don’t give up, things are slowly getting done. And, hey! I’m down 29 pounds 🙂

About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

Leave a Reply

