Insatiable Zombie Mom

My baby boy is six weeks old now and he’s been “cluster feeding,” wanting to eat about every hour or so through the night. He’s also had some serious gas; some of his farts are so loud, they put grown men to shame! Poor little guy, he’s colicky and probably having growing pains. Well the result is not so much sleep all around for the entire family and I’m not always as Zen as I described in my last blog post. So I’m feeling like the living dead these days. And what I’ve been noticing is that along with the fatigue comes some serious munchies!

149158_443176142059_7490595_n

Yes, it’s really me, zombified! 

It doesn’t help that Halloween is right around the corner. Why, oh why did I get Halloween candy already? I should have waited until the day before and gotten things that I hate. Or better yet, swapped out the candy for stickers or fun pencils and crayons like my smart friend Heather did. Anyhow, I’m ashamed to admit, I’ve been hitting that candy stash like a fiend. I’m so tired and frustrated; I feel as though I’ve completely lost all willpower and those peanut butter Snickers are just calling my name.

There’s actually a scientific explanation behind this phenomenon. As it turns out, lack of sleep increases ghrelin, the hormone that makes you feel hungry. It also decreases leptin, the hormone that makes you feel full. So when you’re sleep deprived you feel more hungry and can’t feel full. The result is that you become a starving bottomless pit!

Well, I’m hitting the reset button and coming clean! I’m on a mission to be a healthy, active and fit mom, and I want to live by example. I’ve always felt that awareness and honesty is the pivoting point of making change. Hey, even holistic nutritionists struggle with this stuff! Now for the nitty gritty. Here are my steps towards getting off this sugar roller coaster ride:

Be gentle with myself! Remind myself that there are powerful hormones driving this behavior. A few slips here and there is not the end of the world; it’s what I choose to do most of the time that matters.

Emphasize protein and healthy fat; they help to increase feelings of fullness. Greek yogurt, whey protein powder  and nut butter can make a quick an easy smoothie.

When the cravings hit, drink a big glass of water! I need extra hydration anyway while breast feeding and even slight dehydration can increase feelings of fatigue and lower metabolism by up to 50%.

When the boy is sleeping, prepare some quick and easy munchies: apple and carrot slices with a spoonful of almond butter, pre-portioned crackers and a cube of cheese, unsweetened coconut flakes, and hard boiled eggs are some easy ones.

Needless to say, I haven’t lost any more weight this week. But I haven’t gained any and I’ve been regular with my walks and getting to the gym about three times per week (thanks to Hubby encouraging me and watching our baby).

So I will keep trudging on! Until next time!

Sylvie

About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

Leave a Reply

