Be Here Now Baby Meditation

I am making my way along the shady trail, dogs in tow, enjoying the feel of the breeze cooling me off and taking in the view of greenery. It’s so peaceful and serene.

“Wahhhh!!! Wahhh!!! Wahhh!!!” What in the world is that sound? Is there an injured animal on the trail?

“Wahhh!!! Wahhh!!! Wahhhh!!” I hear it again. The sound is so nerve wracking, completely rattling me to my core. What is happening? Did somebody bring their baby to the woods?

“Wahhh!!! Wahhh!! Wahhh!!!” Oh my God! It’s my baby! I’ve drifted off to sleep and he’s jolting me out of my dreamland. Completely disoriented, I stumble out of bed to his bassinet. It’s 3:45 in the morning and he’s hungry!

And so starts my day. A day full of interruptions. I’m a 39 year old first time mom. I had gotten pretty used to living my life on my own terms. This tiny little 5 week old man has revolutionized my world! My emotions fluctuate between being completely stressed out, cranky and sleep deprived, and totally blissed out and in love with this little being.

I’m learning to surrender to the acceptance of his will over mine. Through this process, I am finding more joy in the disruptions. It’s a process. He is teaching me to slow down and to remember what’s truly important. Checking my email, doing the dishes, taking the trash out, cleaning house, all of these things can wait. My baby’s insistent cries remind me of true priorites: “I need love! My tummy is hungry! Give me comfort!”

679e3e89efe614458b5f50ec2b2bc4ba

Ever notice how babies look like the Buddha? I’m sure it’s no coincidence! Babies come into this world absolutely perfect. While in the womb, everything is provided for them in a seamless manner. Then they enter this new environment where there is suffering! Temperature changes, hunger pangs, even eliminating causes pain. Our job as parents is to ease them into this world of hurt. In the process of being there for them, we learn more compassion, we learn to slow down and be in the moment.

We are also reminded that everything is temporary. The crying, even though it sounds like the most aggravating, urgent thing in the world, will pass eventually. And If you were able to stop, be there, and ride that wave out with the tiny being, you may be rewarded with a smile more radiant than a sunrise or the sweet sound of calm breathing and heavy eyelids that wash calm over that tiny face.

So my intention today is to welcome the interruptions. I will take them as an opportunity to stop and to slow down and to put my will aside for a change, so that I can remember what’s truly important: being in loving service and connection with others, my baby, my tiny Buddha.

About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Insatiable Zombie Mom | Nutrition That Works! - October 27, 2015

Leave a Reply

