My Apologies

Dear Readers,

Yesterday I blogged about my experience with an overweight Kaiser nurse  who gave me a vaccination and expressed to me how sad she felt it was that I couldn’t go reward myself afterwards with an ice cream sundae due to my dairy free diet. 
I must admit that while writing the post, I was still emotionally triggered from the argument we had regarding food sensitivities. She was claiming that they were “no big deal” and for me, and in my practice as a nutritionist, I feel that they are indeed a huge deal. I felt that her comments to me were essentially minimizing my entire education and what I stand for. 
However, rather than reacting out of anger, I should have taken a moment to empathize with her. 
I described her as “very obese, pasty, and puffy.” That was not a compassionate thing to say and I apologize. What I was trying to say was that she looked unhealthy and was showing symptoms of food allergies herself. I can look at pictures of myself in the past and can tell by how puffy my face looks that I had been eating bread and or drinking beer (that contains gluten) the night before. Dark circles under the eyes for example are a tell tale sign for dairy sensitivities. Acne is often related to dairy sensitivities. 
So often, we are addicted to the very foods that we are sensitive to. We crave them and find it impossible to live without them. It causes me great pain to see people suffer and caught up in the addiction cycle. Often the only joy that people feel centers around foods that are actually causing them harm. 
The first step to breaking the food addiction cycle is to face the truth and to become educated. With some patience and faith, within just a few days, the physical symptoms are relieved and the cravings lessen. In my work with my clients, it is my goal to discover these hidden food sensitivities, and to create delicious customized menu plans that emphasize the myriads of yummy, healthful foods that they CAN enjoy. 
Please forgive me if I offended…
Love and Light,
Sylvie Nalezny, MA, CNE
About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

4 responses to “My Apologies”

  1. Antonio says :

    You have a great blog. Thanks for the apology. Keep supplying us great tips to live by, and good luck.

  2. Debra says :

    That is so sweet to apologise and completely understandable! (I’m not the nurse tho!) I have felt so angry when for example my GP said to me, some people “think” they have sensitivity to wheat and dairy… and refused to do a test for me because I didn’t have full blown allergy. (He said I would have diarrhoea of I had allergy to milk and I don’t so that’s it.) Milk and wheat kill my energy every time I have it, but he’s suggesting I’m imagining it somehow! Maddening….

  3. Adrien says :

    You got great points there, that’s why I always love checking out your blog. My blog: regroupement de credit puis rachat de credit voiture

  4. garcinia cambogia extract says :

    garcinia cambogia extract

    BLOG.REALFOODNUTRITION.COM: My Apologies

Leave a Reply

