The Injection Nurse at Kaiser Today

At my last check up appointment, my doctor told me I was due for a tetanus shot and that I should probably get vaccinated against the whooping cough too. Now I’m a little on the fence about vaccinations I must admit. I refuse to get the flu shot  because I just think it’s unnecessary.

From personal experience, it seems that those who get the flu shot are always getting sick! I never get the flu and get a cold maybe once or twice a year. There used to be a time when I did get sick much more frequently. But back then, I was smoking cigarettes, not getting enough sleep, and eating too much sugar, all things that deplete the immune system drastically. 
When the whole swine flu scare came out, I blogged about it, encouraging people to rethink getting vaccinated against what would probably eventually blow over as a big nothing. There are plenty of things we can do to boost our immune systems without the risk of serious side effects. I wish doctors were as eager to increase their patients’ Vitamin D level than to send them for vaccinations. (Low vitamin D makes you much more susceptible to colds and flus, amongst other health issues.)
Anyway, I decided to go and get the booster shots this morning. When the nurse called my number, I asked her if there was any mercury in the shots that she was going to administer. She rolled her eyes at me and said that there wasn’t. OK. Then I mentioned to her that I had a food sensitivity to eggs. Is there any way to get the injection in a base that doesn’t contain egg albumin? She shook her head no. 
Then we got into a big debate regarding the difference between full blown food allergies and food sensitivities. She assured me that it’s only those who get anaphylactic shock from eggs that should be concerned about the vaccine. She proceeded to tell me that “people tend to overreact about food sensitivities and that it’s really not a big deal.” Regarding my decision to eliminate gluten, cow dairy, and eggs from my diet, she shook her head and said. “That’s so sad…that means you can’t go to Fenton’s and treat yourself to a nice ice cream sundae after your shot.” 
She really meant it too. I looked her up and down. She was very obese, pasty and puffy. Now I am not a mean person and I hate to sit in judgement. But all I could think about was actually how sad it was for her….as unhealthy as she is, working in a health facility with full access to farmer’s market produce, health education classes, and some of the best doctors around! Obviously, this woman has a love affair with ice cream, a love affair that has turned into an abusive relationship, judging by her waist circumference. 
Oooh ouch. Did I just really write that? Guess so! All I’m trying to say is that people tend to be addicted to foods they’re sensitive to. And the foods that we’re sensitive to make us put on weight very quickly. Today I can honestly say that the freedom that I feel from eliminating the foods that I am sensitive to brings me a much deeper and more permanent joy than indulging for 5-10 minutes with an ice cream sundae. 
There are so many delicious healthy things for me to eat out there! This week, I’ll be posting the fabulous treats that I can enjoy as part of a gluten, dairy, and egg free diet! 
If you’re curious about your own food sensitivities, I am offering a very simple blood spot test that looks for the 30 most common food allergies. I can mail it to you or we can do it in person and the cost is only $160. 
To Your Health!
Sylvie Nalezny,  MA, CNE
http://www.realfoodnutrition.com

P.S. I have nothing against nurses; they are some of the most giving, loving people around. It is not my intention to offend

About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

3 responses to “The Injection Nurse at Kaiser Today”

  1. louis vuitton purse says :

    I consider, that you are not right. I am assured. I can prove it. Write to me in PM.

  2. maillot de foot says :

    maillot de foot

    qui fut arsenal vs ac milan live ministre de lEducation de Jacques Chirac 2004-2005. ?Même lhypothèse dune liste sans étiquette conduite par maillot de foot Tapie 13%? la Nexus 7 de Google 7 pouces et la Kindle dAmazon 7 pouces, Al-Qa?da Manuel Valls a mis tout le monde dans le même sac et arsenal barcelone 2010, où le chef de lEtat a dit effectif de la juventus redonner confiance à un monde paysan désorienté. AmériquesDes fuites ont été détectées sur au moins six citernes de stockage souterraines contenant des déchets nucléaires dans lEtat de Washington! AmériquesDes fuites ont été détectées sur au moins six citernes de stockage souterraines contenant des déchets nucléaires dans lEtat de Washington! qui nassurent plus automatiquement le succès dun film.

  3. ugg boots says :

    ugg boots

    ugg boots fake genuine

Leave a Reply

