Is Honey a Healthy Sweetener?

This morning was my second test in my Great Blood Sugar Experiment! Last time, I tested Agave Nectar to see how it impacted my blood sugar. Amazingly, the claims seem to be true! My blood sugar only went up 6 points from having about 2 oz. on an empty stomach. Based on this data, I would recommend the use of Agave for anyone who is concerned about their blood sugar or who is wanting to lose excess weight. This morning I tested myself with raw, local honey. Watch my video to see the results!

Fasting blood sugar = 95
After 2 oz. of raw, local honey = 134
That’s quite an increase! While it’s not horrible, honey may not be the best sweetener for folks controlling their blood sugar. While it is more nutritious than white sugar, it is also more caloric (46 cal per Tbsp white sugar vs. 64 cal per Tbsp of honey), and should be used sparingly for weight loss purposes. 
To purchase GlucoGone or Premium Whey Protein  (2 phenomenal products I mentioned in the video), Call Metabolic Nutrition at 415-257-3099 and let them know that Sylvie sent you to receive a special discount! 


I’ve been really curious about the various claims made with so called “healthy” sweeteners. Are they real? Are these “natural” sweeteners really better for us? How do the different sweeteners really impact our blood sugar? One of my central themes when I work with clients is to teach them about the importance of balanced blood sugar. Fluctuating blood sugar leads to weight gain, can trigger migraines, depression, anxiety, and other mood disorders and can eventually turn into Type II Diabetes.

Obviously, I recommend that all of my clients steer clear of refined sugar as much as possible. White sugar is an anti-nutrient, stripping the body of energizing B vitamins and minerals, upsetting the bacterial balance that regulates digestion, suppressing your immune system, rotting your teeth out, wreaking havoc on your blood sugar which will lead to ups and downs in your mood…..need I say more? 

But what about the other alternatives? I never recommend chemical sweeteners such as aspartame and saccharin (nutra-sweet and equal). Splenda is also problematic. It is NOT a natural sweetener like they claim on the label. Splenda is made by attaching a chlorine molecule onto a sugar molecule. Supposedly it passes through your system undigested and is safe for diabetics. However, studies have shown enlarged livers and kidneys and shrunken thymus glands in primates given Splenda. The liver and kidney are detoxification organs and the thymus is our master immune system gland. I don’t think any of us want to end up sick and toxic! 

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be testing how various sweeteners impact my own blood sugar and I’ll be sharing the results with you all! 
I’m hoping that I’ll be able to draw some important conclusions based on my own observation and quasi scientific experiment. 
Tune in next time for Maple Syrup! Please let me know if there are any sweeteners you are curious about. 
Yours in Health,
Sylvie Nalezny, MA, CNE

About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

21 responses to “Is Honey a Healthy Sweetener?”

  1. Liz Lipski says :

    2 oz is a lot of sugar on an empty stomach and not how most people would use either agave or honey. I’d like to see what happens to glucose levels if you have a meal that has agave or honey…perhaps that’s the next experiment. Thanks for your work. Liz

    Thank you Liz! That is an excellent point. It’s very true and I’m also a fan of looking at the big picture. Looking at the glycemic load of a meal is more important than the glycemic index of a particular food. For example, most people might mix honey with yogurt and granola. So the effect of the honey is lessened from the protein, fat, and fiber of the other foods. And you’re right, most people wouldn’t eat that much honey in one sitting…although I have known a few sugar sensitive folks to sit down and polish off a whole pot at once!! The purpose of this experiement is to compare the sweeteners to each other. In my final post, I will be posting the results of agave nectar, honey, maple syrup, palm sugar, rapadura, stevia, xylitol, and white sugar.
    I will mention your comment in my next blog post.

  2. annie nalezny says :

    Il me semble que je t’ai entendu dire que le taux de sucre dans ton sang avait augmenté de presque 20 points. mais, de 95 à 135, c’est presque 40 points.Sinon, c’était très réussi.Maman t’embrasse

  3. Jennifer Goldwasser says :

    This is encouraging news for me in that there are so many seemingly great products which have agave syrup in them, and from my own experiments i’ve found that the “crash” is less hard than with cane juice or cane sugar, but i still was skeptical about the agave claims (I guess i still kinda wonder how differnet brands compare). Other sweetners that i’m interested in (that you didnt mention) are brown rice syrup (usually, truly local for us Californians) and coconut sugar, a new product at whole foods which i havent tried yet (except as a pinch from the bulk bin)and it’s got such an amazing smell. I have a complete facination with honey none the less, and nothing can replace it in a mug of mint tea, but keeping in mind your experiment, will help keep me in line with the honey pot!! Thank You for your research.

    Thanks for your feedback Jenny! I will definitely look into brown rice syrup and coconut sugar! – Sylvie

  4. boyperygieddy says :

    You certainly deserve a round of applause for your post and more specifically, your blog in general. Very high quality material

  5. flannery ford used car lawsuit says :

    I find myself coming to your blog more and more often to the point where my visits are almost daily now!

  6. forms of government says :

    I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Faskamula says :

    You certainly have some agreeable opinions and views. Your blog provides a fresh look at the subject.

  8. rpg games says :

    trying to read this image. Your layout isn’t viewing right using Firefox browser on ipad.

  9. insurance for long term care says :

    Very handy to have a link letting me share this blog on Facebook

  10. garret0b says :

    [url=http://moshbook.com/naturalacne/?p=12 ]Source: [/url] I realise this isn’t a very good comment but it made me smile!Friends may come and go, but enemies tend to accumulate. 🙂

  11. fundraising ideas says :

    I found this publish from a referal on fb and added it to my hyperlinks

  12. fSuei says :

    Have you ever thought of adding video to your blog to keep the visitors entertained?

  13. Chochepom says :

    You certainly deserve a round of applause for your post and more specifically, your blog in general. Very high quality material

  14. jeeyun77 says :

    Would you mind if I refered your blog post on my linkedin account?

  15. qlc8 says :

    I don’t want to copy this website, however I actually just like the theme. Could you touch upon which theme are you using or is it custom designed?

  16. kEmey says :

    This blog is informative – you have a some up to date interesting information.we like your site layout where’d you download the theme?

  17. insurance services says :

    Do you care if I refered your blog post on my twitter account?

  18. ton says :

    I don’t want to repeat this web site, but I actually just like the template. Could you touch upon which template are you using or is it custom designed?

  19. cjytest says :

    cjytest

    That is the proper blog regarding anybody which needs to search out away relating to this subject matter. An individual notice so much its nearly arduous to be able to claim along with you (not too I actually would likely want ). You undoubtedly put a new rewrite upon a topic that’s already been discussing for decades. Great stuff, simply great!

Leave a Reply

