The Great Blood Sugar Experiment: Agave

I’ve started the Great Blood Sugar Experiment!

I’ve been really curious about the various claims made with so called “healthy” sweeteners. Are they real? Are these “natural” sweeteners really better for us? How do the different sweeteners really impact our blood sugar? One of my central themes when I work with clients is to teach them about the importance of balanced blood sugar. Fluctuating blood sugar leads to weight gain, can trigger migraines, depression, anxiety, and other mood disorders and can eventually turn into Type II Diabetes.
Obviously, I recommend that all of my clients steer clear of refined sugar as much as possible. White sugar is an anti-nutrient, stripping the body of energizing B vitamins and minerals, upsetting the bacterial balance that regulates digestion, suppressing your immune system, rotting your teeth out, wreaking havoc on your blood sugar which will lead to ups and downs in your mood…..need I say more? 
But what about the other alternatives? I never recommend chemical sweeteners such as aspartame and saccharin (nutra-sweet and equal). Splenda is also problematic. It is NOT a natural sweetener like they claim on the label. Splenda is made by attaching a chlorine molecule onto a sugar molecule. Supposedly it passes through your system undigested and is safe for diabetics. However, studies have shown enlarged livers and kidneys and shrunken thymus glands in primates given Splenda. The liver and kidney are detoxification organs and the thymus is our master immune system gland. I don’t think any of us want to end up sick and toxic! 
Over the next few weeks, I’ll be testing how various sweeteners impact my own blood sugar and I’ll be sharing the results with you all! 
I’m hoping that I’ll be able to draw some important conclusions based on my own observation and quasi scientific experiment. 
This morning, I started with Agave Nectar:


Here’s the Results!

www.youtube.com/watch?v=nvQc5tUhqnc

Final results: Agave Nectar only raised my blood sugar by 6 points. However, at around 4pm (which is when blood sugar typically dips the lowest) I was seriously irritable and needed to take a nap, which hasn’t happened to me in a while.

Stay tuned for my next experiment: Raw Honey

Yours in Health,
Sylvie Nalezny, MA, CNE
About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

One response to “The Great Blood Sugar Experiment: Agave”

  1. annie says :

    Ma jolie, il faut absolument que tu trouves le moyen de cadrer ton texte de blog sur la page. Pour te lire, je suis obligée de glisser tout le temps à droite, puis à gauche et c’est très agaçant. Les gens ont très peu de temps et si ça continue , ils ne vont plus te lire , ce qui serait très dommage.

Leave a Reply

