Raving About Ramps!

Last weekend I met some girlfriends for lunch at the Ferry Plaza Building  in San Francisco. After an eclectic and delicious meal of fresh young coconut (what a challenge to find someone to open it for me–thank you cute butcher guy!), Burrata cheese, eggplant dip, and assorted charcuterie, we perused the market. At the Far West Fungi stand I noticed a vegetable that I had never seen before!

“Ramps!” exclaimed the vendor. “They’re absolutely delicious! Snatch them up because it’s almost the end of the season.” So I did! 
And I took them home and I did pretty much what I do with any new vegetable that I want to try for the first time: I sauteed them in organic butter and a touch of garlic. Success! For those of you that are still avoiding butter for health reasons, STOP! There’s nothing wrong with organic butter, especially when it comes from grass fed cows. For more information on healthy fats, read my blog post on that very subject.  If you’re avoiding dairy due to allergies, coconut oil is another tasty, healthy option for higher heat sautees. Never use olive oil with high heat. Once it starts to smoke, it’s become toxic!   
Turns out  ramps are a relative of the leek. You can eat the bulb and the leaves. They are one of the first Spring vegetables to grow out of the snow. Many people enjoy them pickled. They mostly grow in the Easter North American Mountains. I forgot to ask the vendor at Far West Fungi where these ramps came from. In any case, I will be awaiting next year’s ramp season with anticipation! 
Yours in Health and Fun Times,
Sylvie Nalezny, MA, CNE
About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

One response to “Raving About Ramps!”

  1. annie says :

    hmmm ! Ça a l’ait délicieux, I can’t wait !

Leave a Reply

