Tuesday is Taco Night! Today’s Meal Plan

One of my favorite foods of all time are tacos! Real, authentic ones with just meat, cilantro, onions, and salsa on a tasty corn tortilla.

However, the more I’ve learned about nutrition, the less I want to eat conventional meat and genetically modified corn! Most of the corn in this country has been genetically modified. If you’re unaware or would like to learn more about the dangers of Genetically Modified Foods, email me (sylvie@realfooodnutrition.com)  and I will send you a free report. The only way to avoid GM foods  is to choose organic. 
As far as tacos go, that pretty much rules out most of my past favorite haunts. So what I do now is to make my own tacos! Picante on 6th street in Berkeley and Picoso in the North Berkeley food court do serve organic and sustainably raised meat and organic, GMO free corn tortillas. But these places can be somewhat pricey and these days, we can all benefit from saving a little dough and eating at home. Tonight I’m making turkey tacos with turkey leg meat; a tasty and healthy alternative to carnitas. (Although I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with some great quality pork now and then!) 
Here’s my plan for today. 
Breakfast: 

Hot water with lemon (great for liver and kidney health)
Steamed Swiss Chard w/ extra virgin cold pressed olive oil & lemon drizzled on top & nutritional yeast (great source of energizing B vitamins) sprinkled all over
Lamb patty (I buy organic grass fed meat often because it is inexpensive. I make patties and cook them up in my cast iron skillet)
Lunch: 

Brown rice seasoned with extra virgin cold pressed olive oil and dulse flakes (seaweed that is full of minerals!) 
Swiss Chard (leftover from this morning) w/ lemon (lemon neutralizes the oxalic acid in the chard which can block calcium absorption
Saag’s Natural brand chicken sausage (very easy! pre-cooked for your convenience)

Snack:

Organic peach (first of the season!) yummm
4 Brazil nuts
Dinner:

Turkey Tacos!! 
All I did was to bake the turkey leg in the oven at 350 degrees for about 1 1/2 hours. (Did that yesterday morning!)
Pick the meat off and shred and keep warm. 
You’ll need the following: 
Cilantro (naturally draws heavy metals out of your system)
White onion (sulfur rich helps with detoxification)
Organic Tomatoes (lycopene is great for skin, eyes, and prostate)
Avocado
Jalapeno (if you like it hot!) 
Organic Corn tortillas (I like Food for Life, Sprouted Corn tortillas)
A Pat of Organic Butter ! 
Hot sauce (I like Cholula brand because it doesn’t have sodium benzoate like most of the other Mexican brands)
Raw Sauerkraut (aids in digestion, provides probiotics for immune health as well) You can also make this yourself! 
Warm the tortillas one by one in a skillet with a little pat of butter to keep them moist. 
Chop up the onion, cilantro, and tomato and jalapeno. 
Make up your tacos and garnish with avocado and hot sauce to taste. Serve with raw sauerkraut on the side. 
My goal in sharing my food journal with you all is not to say that you need to eat like me! We are all different and some of you may need more fruit and grain than I’m eating or you may need even more protein and fat. My goal is to show that eating whole foods can be delicious and not that difficult to incorporate into your lifestyle. Whole, real food is always a great place to start. There are certain principles that I try to incorporate on a daily basis:
I eat according to my metabolic type, which for me means to eat protein with every meal. 
I eat breakfast within one hour of waking up.
I aim for 4 cups of vegetables every day. 
I try not to go longer than 5 hours without eating. 
I choose organic, local, and sustainable as much as possible. 
I try to eat something fermented and probiotic rich every day. 
I avoid foods that I am sensitive to (gluten for me).
I avoid refined sugar and refined grains like white rice. 
If you are interested in crafting a personalized dietary program, contact me!  I’m happy to discuss your questions and concerns over the phone. 
Until tomorrow, 
Sylvie Nalezny, MA, CNE 
510-421-3214



About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

14 responses to “Tuesday is Taco Night! Today’s Meal Plan”

  1. annie says :

    Papa serait si content de manger toutes ces merveilleuses recettes, et moi aussi, excepté la nourriture mexicaine. Tu devrais avoir un job dans cette maison pour faire la cuisine, au moins deux fois par semaine. On va en discuter !

  2. E Cigarette says :

    Text perspective, placing the site to your bookmarks.

  3. sigarety says :

    Read, of course, far from my topic.

  4. IdiomaDeepode says :

    Hi! There are a few questions on your site. How can I contact the administration?

  5. romantika says :

    In my root logs received news

  6. soin says :

    Nicely presented information in this post, I prefer to read this kind of stuff. The quality of content is fine and the conclusion is good. Thanks for the post. soin.

  7. goldfishka says :

    Text perspective, placing the site to your bookmarks.

  8. zhenskaya obuv says :

    Strange but true. Your site is very expensive.

  9. creacteme says :

    Good post….thanks for sharing… Very useful for me i will bookmark this for my future needs. Thanks.

  10. IdiomaDeepode says :

    Hi! There are a couple of proposals for cooperation in the field of alternative energy. You are interested in solar panels?

  11. coq10 or ubiquinol says :

    coq10 or ubiquinol

    […]BLOG.REALFOODNUTRITION.COM: Tuesday is Taco Night! Today’s Meal Plan[…]

  12. shea butter moisturizer recipe for hair says :

    shea butter moisturizer recipe for hair

    BLOG.REALFOODNUTRITION.COM: Tuesday is Taco Night! Today’s Meal Plan

  13. best shea butter lotion says :

    best shea butter lotion

    BLOG.REALFOODNUTRITION.COM: Tuesday is Taco Night! Today’s Meal Plan

Leave a Reply

