Monday’s Food Plan: Preparing for the Work Week

Due to popular request, I am blogging about what I eat! Today’s Monday and so I’m planning ahead for the work week to come. Typically, I hard-boil half a dozen eggs so that I can have some quick protein on hand. I also cook some high fiber, gluten free starchy carbs. I’ll make a pot of brown rice or quinoa. Always soak your quinoa overnight and rinse well before cooking to remove the soapamines (plant chemicals that block nutrient absorption).  Another favorite is butternut squash, delicata, or kabocha pumpkin. I also like yams. I simply cut them up and bake them in the oven for about an hour at 350 degrees. Poke them with a fork to test for readiness.

This morning, I also baked an organic Turkey leg in the oven. I’m going to be making healthy tacos with the meat for tomorrow so don’t foget to check back for that recipe!

Here’s today’s plan:
Breakfast: 
Hot lemon water (cleansing and detoxifiying)
Aztec Sweet Chili Tea  (Yogi brand. It was cold this morning and I felt like having something warming!) Sometimes I’ll add coconut milk and cinnamon to this tea if I want something creamy.
Goat yogurt w/ mango and shredded coconut (leftover from yesterday’s snack) and a dash of cayenne pepper. Cayenne pepper is warming and boosts the metabolism. So does cinnamon so I’ll sprinkle these often on top of fruit and yogurt. 
Lunch:

Broccoli, Yam, and lean organic Niman Ranch Pork in Trader Joe’s Thai Red Curry Sauce.
It’s what I ended up having for dinner last night, so I’m eating leftovers today. I love TJ’s Thai Red Curry Sauce. It does have a few questionable ingredients: Autolyzed Yeast Extract (might be MSG), canola oil (if it’s not organic it’s probably genetically modified), and sugar (but only 3 grams per serving). Next time, I will try and make some from scratch using coconut milk, red chili powder, and ginger. I can’t be 100% perfect all the time, so I do the best I can!
I bought some “To-Go Ware”  at the Green festival and absolutely love it. I use it almost every day since I often pack my lunch. Made of stainless steel, the lunch box comes with bamboo utensils and an organic cotton carrying sling.
Snack: 

Organic apple w/ cinnamon and the world’s most delicious almond butter !

Dinner: 


Large organic mixed greens salad w/ chopped organic tomato, and 1 Saag’s Natural Brand chicken sausage . These hormone free sausages are a life saver. Pre-cooked, they are an easy delicious organic protein source.
1 slice of Grindstone Bakery gluten free bread  w/ raw butter . Raw butter is so tasty and a powerhouse of nutritious. It is best to stock up on butter in the Spring time when the cows have been eating all of the fresh green grass.

Dessert:

A couple squares of Divine, dark organic chocolate . After learning about the horrors of the cacao industry, I refuse to eat anything but fair trade chocolate. No child will suffer due to my sweet tooth, thank you very much!

As always, I would love to hear your questions and comments. Hope you’re all well nourished today.

Yours in Health,
Sylvie Nalezny, MA, CNE

About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

4 responses to “Monday’s Food Plan: Preparing for the Work Week”

  1. annie says :

    Où est-ce qu’on achète les Divine chocolates ?

  2. Anasuya says :

    It’s interesting to read your thoughts about your food, like the questionable ingredients in the sauce and the fair trade chocolate issues. It sounds so familiar. I’m not perfect either but I think about these things too.

  3. iphone 5 review says :

    What’s the change between the iphone 4 and i phone 5 which are coming out for US.? i’d like to fnd out if it’s worth it to acquire the actual iphone 4 or if i should just wait for the apple iphone five.

  4. mlsg says :

    just wanted to mention this blog does not center correctly utilizing IE browser

Leave a Reply

