Eggs For Health: Today’s Menu

My clients are always asking me what I eat. For the next week, I am sharing my culinary choices with the world, in hopes that I can demonstrate that healthy eating can be easy and delicious! Today is Day 2. Eggs for breakfast this morning….

Breakfast: 
2 Sunny Side Up Eggs served over Fava Bean and Carrot salad (leftover from yesterday!)
Hot water with the juice of 1/2 lemon squeezed in (the sour lemon stimulates bile flow which boosts detoxification)
I cringe whenever people tell me they’re eating egg whites only in an attempt to either be healthier and/or lose weight. Egg yolks are the gold of the egg and where you find all of the nutrition! 
Not all eggs are created equally, however. The best eggs to buy and the healthiest for you come from chickens that were allowed to roam freely and peck and forage some of their food on their own. 
Never buy eggs that boast “vegetarian feed.” Chickens are not vegetarians! They love to eat worms and other insects and that’s a natural part of their diet. Ideally, you want to get “pastured” eggs from chickens that live on an organic farm. The term “natural” doesn’t mean a thing anymore. Unfortunately, “cage-free” doesn’t really mean much either. Choosing “organic” is always a healthier choice because this means the chickens weren’t eating feed laced with pesticides and/or given hormones. 
Currently, I’m eating Clark Summit Farm pastured eggs from Tomales, CA . The eggs are beautiful; they come in different sizes and the shells are various colors. Be suspicious of eggs that are the exact same size and  color! This is an indication that the chicken had no say in what they got to eat! 
Notice how these eggs are different sizes and their shells are different shades of brown. One of them is green!
I cooked my eggs this morning in organic butter. Sometimes I use coconut oil. I never use olive oil because the smoking point of olive oil is lower than it is for butter or coconut oil. Never let the oil that you’re cooking with smoke! Smoke makes lipid peroxides which create free radical damage in your body and are almost as bad for you as trans fats. Egg yolks can get damaged by heat so if you’re scrambling, make sure to use very low heat. Truly the healthiest way to eat eggs is to eat them soft or hard-boiled. 
Notice the deep yellow orange color of the yolks! The one on the right is a bit darker which means the chicken who laid it probably ate a little more grass….Lucky me! 
Lunch: 

Steamed broccoli drizzled with extra virgin cold-pressed olive oil and sprinkled with Nutritional Yeast 
Lamb Patty (leftover from last night)
Olive oil, lemon juice and nutritional yeast make a delicious seasoning for just about everything. If you’ve never tried nutritional yeast before, it tastes sort of like parmesan cheese. (It’s great on air-popped pop-corn!) It’s a great vegetarian source of all of the B-vitamins which are so important for energy production and mood. Stress, alcohol, sugar, white foods, &  caffeine all deplete B-vitamins. 
I’m loving the Raw Crust crackers from Mauk Family Farms lately. I have my own dehydrator and do make flax seed crackers every now and then but when I’m feeling a little lazy, these are perfect! They are crunchy, and hearty and really satisfy me. Sometimes I’ll eat one with almond butter on top for breakfast on the go. 
Snack: 

Mango with chili and shredded coconut. Yummmm! 
Dinner: 

I’m not sure where my day will take me. One of the things I’ve learned is that it’s better for me to be prepared and to have food with me at all times. I’m bringing the following in my cooler in the car:
GT’s Kombucha
Orange
Mayan Spice Wild Bar (I’m not a huge fan of bars in general, but this one’s awesome! It’s got 1500 mg of Super Blue Green Algae,  14 grams of fiber for very low net carbs, and most importantly, tastes great!)
Brazil Nuts (great source of selenium for thyroid and immune health) 
Email me (sylvie@realfoodnutrition.com) with your thoughts and questions or leave a comment here on the blog! Looking forward to hearing from you…
Yours in Health, 
Sylvie Nalezny, MA, CNE
About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

3 responses to “Eggs For Health: Today’s Menu”

  1. annie says :

    Où est-ce qu’on trouve ces crackers ? Si tu en as, j’aimerais bien en goûter un.

  2. Lynn says :

    Really enjoying this inside look at what you eat!

  3. tiffany and co says :

    Very happy to be here, this site is very good, very happy to share with everyone here, I will share with my friends, Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

