Today’s Menu May 15th

My clients often ask me what I eat. For the next week, I’m going to be posting my daily menu plan. My goal is to show everyone that eating healthy can be easy as well as delicious. Ever since the liver gall bladder cleanse workshop I taught in early April, I have been sticking to my gluten free lifestyle and feeling so great! I  have more energy, have dropped a few pounds, and my digestion is fantastic. I don’t miss the gluten at all now that it’s out of my system.

Unfortunately, I have discovered through the process of elimination and reintroduction that my body doesn’t like cow dairy unless it’s raw. That’s what I miss the most! But there are tasty alternative. So I stick with goat dairy. Butter seems to be alright and so does high quality, low heat processed whey protein. It’s really the cow cheese that makes me break out and wake up the next morning feeling congested.

We’re all different and I encourage everyone to try a cleanse and then to experiment with which foods are working best for you at this present time. Not everyone runs on the same fuel. Some people need more protein or fat than others. Some need more complex carbohydrate. Through a process called Metabolic Typing, you can begin to craft a customized nutrition plan. This is a process that I am more than happy to work with you on….

So here goes! 
Saturday, May 15th
Upon Waking: 
Warm water with lemon juice. Yerba mate tea with Tulsi
Breakfast: 
Smoothie with pesticide free, whey protein, spirulina powder, frozen organic blueberries, hemp seeds, coconut milk, goat yogurt and a little water. Yummy! 
Lunch: 


I got some Fava Beans in my Farm Fresh to You box. So I made a salad with fava beans, organic carrots, shredded organic lettuce and a ginger citrus vinaigrette. See the recipes down below! To round out the meal I ate some home-made chicken liver pate onGrindstone Bakery, high flax, gluten free bread and some steamed asparagus with melted butter on top. Email me (sylvie@realfoodnutrition.com) if you’d like the recipe for chicken liver pate! I used to hate organ meat until I discovered this recipe. Organic chicken liver is an excellent source of B-vitamins and zinc. 
Fava Bean & Carrot Salad

Ingredients:
Fava Beans, about 1 cup
Carrots, about 1 cup shredded
Lettuce, about 1 cup shredded
Shell the fava beans, and steam for about 3-5 minutes or until the outer “pod” starts to shrivel a little. Rinse the beans in cool water and then pop them out from the shriveled outer shell. Grate your carrots and then chop your lettuce. Mix it all up in a big bowl. 
Season with a vinaigrette such as the one below. 
Ginger Citrus Vinaigrette

Ingredients: 
Chunk of fresh ginger, peeled
Juice from half of a lemon
1-2 Tbsp of extra virgin, cold pressed organic olive oil
2-3 tsp of local raw honey
Use a microplane to grate the peeled ginger. Use as much as you’d like! I usually do a 1 inch square chunk. Use about twice as much olive oil as you’ve got lemon juice. Mix in honey to taste. Local raw honey will help you if you suffer from seasonal allergies. 
Add you dash of Pink Salt to taste. 
Snack: 
Organic apple with cinnamon. Handful of raw almonds. GT’s Kombucha
Dinner:
My plan for tonight is to have an artichoke, some sweet potato, more asparagus, and a ground lamb patty. 
Dessert is fresh organic peaches and strawberries. 
See you all again tomorrow! 
Yours in Health,
Sylvie Nalezny, MA, CNE
About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

8 responses to “Today’s Menu May 15th”

  1. Marina says :

    Sylvie, this is very informative.. so enjoyed this … Thank you for sharing with all of us… Blessings, Marina 🙂

  2. annie nalezny says :

    Ça a l’air très bon. Est-ce que Kathy a accès à ton blog? Elle non plus ne veut pas manger de gluten , je crois qu’elle serait très contente d’avoir tes recettes.

  3. Kriminal says :

    What can you give a girl on her birthday?

  4. intrading says :

    No offense, but the design really is horrible

  5. construct says :

    Who are the coupons?

  6. military says :

    Please explained to me, why be rich?

  7. Psycho says :

    People, what happens with the weather?

  8. Aurgas says :

    Yeah, in my opinion, this is written on every fence:)

Leave a Reply

