Spring Cleaning for Weight Loss

I just got a new tip from Shrink Yourself, one of my favorite emotional eating newsletters, that made so much sense to me…They made an association between having a lot of clutter in your environment and packing on the pounds. Looking back on my personal experience, I’m remembering how when I decided to get serious about getting healthy, I would go on a serious rampage and clear out all the junk that had been accumulating: papers, notes, magazine articles. Then I would dust and clean ’till everything was sparkly. And then it was time to tackle the closet and to get rid of all the stuff that no longer served me. For example, the frayed mini skirt that I used to wear in college that I was keeping just to see if I could fit into it again…TOSS!!! 

Here’s the part that really struck me: “The process of creating systems and de-cluttering actually reshapes your brain and creates new neural pathways that help you stick to other types of commitments (like eating well and exercising regularly).”
So Spring is right around the corner and it’s the perfect time to not only deep clean your environment but also to cleanse your body. Get rid of the physical clutter around you, and at the same time, get rid of the toxic build up and crud in your body’s digestive system. Quite literally, stop hanging onto crap that no longer serves you! Sorry to be so blunt, but that’s what it takes to get the message across sometimes. By the way, this can also carry over into relationships as well…
I will follow up this post with a few of my favorite Spring detox health tips and recipes. Meanwhile, if you’re inspired to start cleaning your environment, remember that many of the cleaning products out there are actually harmful to your health and can literally poison your body. I’ve got some nice alternatives listed on my website store. Lemon juice, baking soda, and distilled white wine vinegar also make potent and wonderfully safe cleaners. 
About nutritionthatworks

Sylvie Nalezny has a Master's degree in Holistic Health Education and is a certified Nutrition Educator. She has worked as a Nutritionist specializing in weight loss and overcoming sugar addiction and as a Wellness Coach, helping people to create healthy habits.

Leave a Reply

